Wednesdays with the Kids #5

– The VERY GOOD side of Brian recovering from surgery: he doesn’t have work or school this week.  This morning Brian actually offers to take Corbin when he wakes up early, and I get to sleep in till SEVEN!

– Everyone eats breakfast this morning at more or less the same time.  Mine includes 3 Lindt White Chocolate truffles.  I am a failure.

– I feel so spoiled by the fact that Brian is around to help me that I decide to be all ambitious and make Corbin a t shirt:

– Corbin falls asleep for his first nap, and while he’s sleeping on the couch, Lola brings him a glow worm.  She is really getting to be a great big sister.  The majority of the time she is being kind to him and trying to play with him and comforts him when he cries.  It’s ADORABLE!

– And then she screws around and makes so much noise that it wakes him up. Corbin is a pretty happy little guy; can you imagine how happy he would be if he ever got to finish a whole nap?  I tell Lola I don’t want to play with her if she’s not going to behave.  Her response: “maybe you can make me behave.”  If only. 

– And then as evidence that I can’t make her behave, I come into the bathroom to find her dunking Corbin’s beloved Tigger in the toilet.  And by “Corbin’s beloved Tigger,” I mean the one that he constantly chews and sucks on.  My Mother-in-law was at our house for the last couple days to help Brian care for the kids while I was at work.  Somehow this transformed Lola into a crazy, naughty, spoiled brat.  This awful phase can’t last longer than the 2 days that created it, can it?

– After spending much of the last 6 months lying prone on the floor while I wished he would do stuff, Brian has decided that the days directly following back surgery are the PERFECT time to make up for lost time.  He edged the lawn the day I brought him home from the hospital.  Today he has decided to bring all his textbooks back to school to sell back.  8 college textbooks couldn’t POSSIBLY weigh more than the 10lbs his doctor has okayed for him to lift, right!?  I have yelled at him every way I know how for all this, and now I’m thinking of telling Dr. Prpa on him.  If anyone has any idea how to make my husband be useless again for another week or two, pass it my way.

– Corbin graduates to his big boy carseat today!  The rear-facing convertible, I mean.  From the infant carrier type seat. Very cute!  Except that this causes Lola to throw a total fit about wanting THAT seat.  I try to explain that she is a big girl.  I try to explain that she DID get to have a seat like that when she was small and now it’s Corbin’s turn.  Nothin doin.  In the end, I resort to bribery.  Scooby Doo snacks to the rescue!

IMG_0555-1

– I have to take both kids to run some errands.  And though a trip to Old Navy for a couple t shirts that I don’t even need to try on winds up taking 30 minutes and requiring 2 trips to the bathroom, overall it’s pretty stress-free.  Wanna know why?  Bribery.  This time with a bouncy ball.

– Another of our errands is a trip to the grocery store where I buy, among other things, a carton of vanilla ice cream for our cobbler (more on that later.)  Lola whines that she doesn’t LIKE vanilla ice cream.  My response: “well that’s fine honey, then you don’t have to eat any.”  Which causes some lady to tell me I’m a good mom.  Finally!  When I no longer seek your approval, you come around.  Damn you, public!

– Really it’s been a busy, but not very entertaining day.  Cranky kids. Too much bad behavior (mostly from me and Lola.  As I tuck her in tonight, we both promise to be nice tomorrow.)  The highlight was the cobbler.  So let me tell you about that.

Raspberry Peach Cobbler

The cobbler part is actually a simple scone recipe. 

1 Cup (5 oz) flour

2-3 T  sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

4 T cold butter cut into 1/2 inch cubes

1/2 Cup heavy cream

– Put the first 4 ingredients in a food processor and blend.  Add the butter and pulse a few times until the butter is in small bits.  Add the cream and pulse repeatedly until it comes together in clumps.  I have seen this referred to as a “shaggy dough” and I agree. Put this in the fridge till you get the other stuff ready.

Filling:

2lb ripe peaches, peeled and sliced

6oz raspberries, unwashed

1/3 Cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla bean paste (I LOVE THIS STUFF!  But you could use vanilla extract I suppose.)

2 tsp lemon juice

1 T cornstarch

– put the sliced peaches and raspberries in a big bowl.  Add the sugar, vanilla, lemon juice and cornstarch and toss gently so all is coated.

– put the filling into a baking dish.  I used a deep dish pie dish.  Top with lumps of scone dough.  Bake at 350degrees for about 40 minutes.  Serve warm with vanilla bean ice cream.  YUM!  My sister called it her favorite EVER.  🙂 

 

One thought on “Wednesdays with the Kids #5

  1. I’ll be honest. I skipped the recipe. I was so excited to come down here and tell you how awesome you are. We just got back from the mall, and Old Navy, and we only had one trip to the bathroom but I bought them lunch so they would shuttiiiiiiit. Some days it would just be nice to linger around displays like I used to, not position the stroller so it’s not in someone’s way, but also not within arms’ reach of the racks and it never works and THEY’RE STILL CRYING!!!
    That is all. 😀

Leave a Reply

