Faux Fries, Lola-isms, and a New Award!

I just have to start out by saying that I was AGAIN busted as I was singing along really loudly (along with some car dancing) to Born to Run this morning when I pulled in to work.  And then I realized that the car parked next to me actually contained a person.  A person with her windows down.

Beyond that, I’m going to take that last part of the title first, just so I can give a shout out to Coffee Powered Mom, who’s been so kind to me, and is very very funny!  She passed on to me this Reader Appreciation Award.  And I haven’t received this one before, so I thought I’d have a go at it.

And then there are questions.  I wish I was feeling more clever this morning.

What is your favourite colour?

Okay, I’m gonna go ahead and say Seafoam.  Just so the people who know me IRL don’t suspect that I’ve been kidnapped and someone else is now writing my blog in my name (because really, that’s bound to happen, kidnappers are DYING to take over my blog!)  But I LOVE colors.  Almost ALL of them.  I especially like to combine them.  Sometimes I pick up a huge stack of paint chips from Home Depot and just play with them and make color combos.  That’s really flippin strange isn’t it.  The kidnappers are all “I don’t think we should mess with this one.  She’s crazy!”

What is your favourite animal?

Polar Bear.  Duh.  Don’t even have to take a milisecond on that one.

What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

Tough one.  I think maybe Raspberry Italian Cream Soda.  But I’d like to give very close runner ups to Diet Pepsi, Fresh Squeezed Lemonade (made by anyone but me because I SUCK at it, which is really torture because it’s not that commonly available),  Horchata, and Chocolate Peanut-Butter Banana milkshakes.  🙂 

Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?

I prefer death.  I’m just kidding.  Sort of.  I caved and now somewhat use facebook a little bit.  So I don’t get to be self-righteous anymore.  Bummer. 

What is your favourite pattern?

I LOVE patterns!  I’m gonna go ahead and lose the respect of Coffee Powered Mom, though, and say “small repeating flowers.”  You know, like old old cottage-y wallpaper.  But I like most patterns.  Not wild about plaid.

Do you prefer giving or getting presents?

I WANT to say giving.  So that no one knows that I’m secretly a terrible person.  But it’s getting.  I love getting presents.  Because I’m broke but I love having new stuff!  Judge away!

What is your favourite number?

I don’t have one.  I know, I’m sort of eccentric and seem like I would.  I DO feel like numbers have personalities (and I think that’s actually, like, a condition.  Like with a name.)  But I don’t have a favorite.

What is your favourite flower?

Man!  These questions are crazy!  Half of them, I feel like someone’s saying “here is a case of French pastries.  Pick just one.”  I really think that all flowers are gorgeous and I love them and I constantly feel bummed that I never receive them.  A favorite?…I guess today I’m going to say …you know what, I really can’t do it.  I could maybe give you a list of 10.  But really, who’s that interested?  lol. 

What is your passion?

Everything.  I am an overly passionate person. 

Bloggers I want to pass this on to:

Stay at Home Tatte

Sillyliss

Going Coverless

Okay, here is where I have to confess that I’ve had virtually NO time for reading others’ blogs lately.  I swear I’m going to get back to it because I LOVE it.  But these are the only 3 I’ve tuned into regularly lately.  So they are the ones I’m going to mention.  Until I can stop being so self absorbed and adore the rest of you again.

Now then…

The kids and I visited my cousin and her kids yesterday.  I wanted to bake with them.  But I STILL haven’t perfected the art of finding something the kids will be impressed with without losing interest in halfway through.  My plan for yesterday, Cupcake Burgers with Sugar Cookie French Fries. 

It all started out well:

I had premade the cupcakes the night before.  AND I bought (GASP!!!) mixes for the cookies and the brownies to save time.  PLUS store bought frosting.  And these still took all damn day and by the end it was just me and Cami (who was a great helper.  And was also hysterical because she doesn’t do a lot of baking and said things like “you can make things without a mix!?”  And “what does sugar look like?”  She also said at least 10 times “this is so clever!” So she’s my new bestie.  🙂 )

Anyway, here is the world’s WORST picture of our finished result:

I overfilled the cupcakes and undercooked the brownies, and I forgot to bring some essential things like a round cookie cutter (because Christmas Tree shaped burgers would have been less convincing.)   But overall, they were cute.  Basically, the buns are cupcakes, the burgers are brownies baked in a 9×13 pan then cut in circles, the french fries are rolled sugar cookies, and then frosting for the rest.  I thought the little paper containers added a fun touch.  I “borrowed” those from my work cafeteria. 

I think the kids were pretty tickled.  They even brought some to the neighbors and said “did you guys order some burgers?”  It was cute.  Lola had SOOOOOOO much fun which was awesome.  Less awesome was the fact that she spent the ENTIRE hour ride home whining “I don’t wanna go home!”

And now, everyone’s favorite segment (okay, maybe just Matty’s favorite):  Silly Things Lola Did Yesterday

– She found a can of crabmeat in the cupboard, Chicken of the Sea brand, and pointed to the logo and said to me “I never saw mermaid food before!”  All excited.

– One of my cousins was over the other day and every time a plane flew by, she’d tell the kids where it was going (i.e. Florida, Chicago, etc.)  When we were driving yesterday, Lola pointed out a plane, and when I asked her where it was going she said “McDonalds.”  Okay, I’m a LITTLE ashamed.

– When the kids were bringing the little baked good meals to the neighbor kids, we ran over there and they each had a “meal” in their hands, except Lola.  She stopped halfway there and yelled “Guys! Wait!  I forgot my dinner!”  I just thought it was so cute how she didn’t quite understand the concept and thought the other kids were just running with their own, as opposed to the extras for just the neighbor kids.  And also, I was tickled that in our household, to Lola, cupcakes, brownies, and sugar cookies constituted “dinner.” 

– Brian found her a Princess Celestia My Little Pony figure on eBay to go with her (still small) Ponyville collection.  He gave it to her yesterday and I have never seen so much unprompted, genuine gratitude from that girl in my life.  It was so sweet I couldn’t stand it.  She hugged him and said “Thank you so much for bringing me that, Daddy.”  It was just so sincere that it melted my heart.

– Bringing home groceries is the funniest. thing. EVER!  when Lola’s home.  She goes through the bags and just has the weirdest excitement over every. single. item.  “Daddy, you brought this!?”  “New ones!?!?”  “New PRETZELS!?!?!?!?”  And the excitement, volume, and pitch just builds and builds, until the piece de resistance: “NEW HELLO KITTY BANDAIDS!?!” at a level that caused all the dogs in the neighborhood to start howling.  Seriously.  It’s every item, every week.  She gets worked up about paper towels, y’all.  I need to record this next time.

17 thoughts on “Faux Fries, Lola-isms, and a New Award!

  1. You crack me up! Yes, I”m a kidnapper and I want to take over your blog! 🙂 Seriously, take a peek at my post ‘dessert in a mug’. I don’t know if it’s considered baking, but Lola could totally do it herself! My daughter is nearly 9, and she loves doing it, and making them for all of us as well. Makes her feel so special and grown up!
    congrats on the award, btw!

    • Awesome! thanks. I think that Cami, the older of my cousin’s girls would LOVE for me to pass this on to her. She likes to be able to make stuff for everyone by herself. 🙂

  2. There’s a lot of pressure that comes with giving presents most of the time. Will they like it? Will they know how much I spent? Will they think it’s a gag gift when it’s really not? Does this occasion require a present? Is it still a present if it’s an obligation? Etc. etc.

    The burger and fries look amazing. Truly, I am incredulous right now. Or am I incredible? I’m something incred-esque where I can’t think of any appropriate vocabulary words.

    Emilia kinda does the same thing with groceries. She’s like, “NEW SOAP! I NEVER USED THIS KIND OF SOAP BEFORE” followed by numerous exclamation points. I don’t know why I buy her other types of treats when clearly new soap is more exciting than candies, cookies, and lemon ices combined.

    Tatte and I have been trying to help you out by not posting so much. I think that makes us awesome. ❤

  3. The only people who enjoy ‘silly things Lola said/did’ more than myself are the co-workers around me when im gasp/burst/explosive laughing at them.
    new fav “I never saw mermaid food before!”

    and i know the exact voice she uses in the grocery “reveal”. and i adore it.

  4. 😀
    You’ll never lose my respect for being honest. I’ll just raise an eyebrow at your low for miniature flower print patterns. There has to be SOME people out there who like them, otherwise they’d stop making them right? 😀 Hahahaha!
    This post made me laugh. In lots of ways, but it was so long that my brain has stopped working because I have only had one cup of coffee. 😦 Let me scroll…

    Your burgers and fries are ridiculously skillful. Phil makes spiral sugar cookies with the kids for Christmas, two different coloured sugar cookie doughs rolled flat then laid on top of each other and rolled up into a spiral log. Cut into slices and bake. It’s really easy (well, I don’t do anything, but it looks much easier than what you made hahahaha) so the kids may love it.

    Lola-isms made me laugh, like usual, a lot of her ideas and sayings are so similar to the stuff that Ally says it’s hilarious. I also feel shame when Ally mentions anything to do with the golden arches that are McDonald’s…

    • I haven’t made that kind because it seems too putzy (ha! says the woman who made the dinner dessert!). Maybe I’ll try them this year. Lola would probably like em.

  5. Mermaid food!?! I LOVE Lola! She’s my kind of girl 🙂

    Awesome dessert/”dinner.” God do I miss baking. My Kitchenaid mixer is sad and a little dusty. I NEED to make some time to bake.

    And, I’m with you on the tiny flower print. I’ve always loved it–maybe because I picture prarie clothing or something. I don’t know. But, come on people, there’s nothing wrong with pretty little flowers.

  6. Pingback: Reader Appreciation Award | Going Coverless

  7. Pingback: Reader Appreciation Award | Naiad And The Moon Of

  8. I laughed so hard at the Lola-isms. We’re in the strange-things-that-come-out-of-kids’-mouth stage with Big Ive. I love it. How they manage to put the words together like that, I don’t know, but it is hilarious. And then you laugh at your kid and they get mad at you because they weren’t trying to be funny…

Leave a Reply

