All Boy

When I found out at Corbin’s ultrasound that I was having a boy, I had mixed feelings. I was surprised- I had been certain it was a girl. Which puts me at 0 for 2 on guessing my babies’ sex. I was relieved- I was already thinking that we were probably going to have to be done after two, and I knew Brian was hoping to have a son at some point. But also, though I HATE admitting it, I was trepidatious.

I am a girl with a sister and like 15 girl cousins. Not only do the mysteries of raising boys make me uneasy, I sort of felt bad that Lola wouldn’t have a sister. So, in a moment of great wisdom (#sarcasmfont), I turned to random blogs and message boards to get me geared up.

“Things that are awesome about having a boy.”

And that leads me to today’s post. I turned up a lot of irritating stuff!

There were the mildly annoying: “it’s so fun to go to their sporting events and cheer.” “You get to buy cute overalls.”

Well, excuse me but Lola is already on her way to being a volleyball star (meaning we pretend to play in her bedroom and sometimes she hits it back to me), and she has often looked A-FREAKIN-DORABLE in a pair of overalls, jerks! What else you got?

Then there were the fairly offensive: “girls are whiny divas! Boys are way more loving and laid back.” “If you have a girl you’ll spend every day of your life choking to death on glitter and pink, prissy crap.”

Okay, who are you trying to convince there, jerk!? I have yet to walk into my daughter’s room and trip on all the tutus. Also, for the record, in my limited experience, the little boys I personally know are way whinier than the little girls.

I’m also not wild about when people say their son is “all boy” because what they almost always mean is that he likes to be rowdy and get dirty. As though those are things that are entirely exclusive to the male gender.

Now that I HAVE a boy, you know, on the outside, I wonder whether there are real differences. So far, they seem very few. I mean, beyond the things that we sort of push on them. Corbin does enjoy his dump truck, but Lola probably would have too, I don’t think I ever bought her one. And just when I was wondering yesterday whether I had pushed her into gender roles too much, she BEGGED me to play a Chuck the Truck game with her.

So, I guess we’ll see. I think the gender differences are sort of what you make of them. Well, you and everyone else. And sadly, the “everyone else” probably don’t share your thoughts on the matter.

But I will tell you one thing regarding Corbin that is ALL BOY! The penis handling obsession. Which was my biggest fear! And it’s come around already! The other day he got so into his penis in the tub that he fell over and bumped his head. And diaper changes!? Forget it. I want nothing to do with this stuff. When moms of boys laugh about how much their five year olds play with their pirates (that’s how Lola says privates), I AM NOT AMUSED. I hope I’ll come around to being less horrified soon, because I believe I’ve got a long road ahead of me on this front.

Lastly, the kids will be having a joint birthday party, and I was trying to think of a way to combine themes, but Corbin’s so young that its hard to say what he’d really be into. But now I have it! I’ll be sure to report back to you all on the success of the Strawberry Shortcake / Penis themed party. ;-P

Oh, what’s that you say? You want pictures of Lola’s overall cuteness? Well, I MIGHT have some.

5 thoughts on “All Boy

  1. I felt you on this one 😉 From my limited experience – four is the magic number for gender differences – when my little guy began shooting, climbing walls, and changed ‘playing with dolls, to wrestling with ’em. I still get lots of cuddles but the ones I’m not expecting are enough to knock me over 😉 it’s fun though – after all those years of only us girls, it’s maybe even refreshing ;). The penis thing never goes away – Austin called me into the bathroom and showed me if he squeezes as he pees he had his own little squirt toy – much to the dismay of the bathroom

  2. I’m with you on that. All of that. I loved my overalls as a kid and I’m pretty sure my favorite toys were (separately!) rocks and caterpillars.

    The privates-touching thing horrifies/annoys me regardless of whether its babies or adults. I’m pretty sure all kids are exploratory of their bodies. The ones who aren’t are probably reincarnated, with past lives as humans. >.< However… as a person grows up, its not 'ok' public behavior, and totally transfers to adulthood.

    I was brought up by people who'd say "Get your hands out of your [pants/nose/ear/etc]" and I feel like that provides good, healthy discipline and guidance. Otherwise, it's allowing [boys, mainly] to grow up with inappropriate behavior and no knowledge of how to behave otherwise. That said, I don't have a kid and a person can only do what they can do. But I agree, the 'boys will be boys' crap is a load of lies and nurture-perpetuated gender division.

  3. Oh, boys and their third legs! Lol! I have two boys and they are sweet, but oh, so busy! I have a little niece who is calm and quiet. I do think that with all children it is the way parents raise them that counts the most on who they are and who they become. To happy kids! 🙂

  4. My older sister constantly says “Caleb is all boy!” and it drives me insane. Grrrrr. And can you believe he’s 3 now Steph? And Keira’s 4.5 and in school?

Leave a Reply

