Just a little update

Yay! I can access my blog again! I hope it sticks; I was panicking!

Corbin’s ear tube surgery went like this:

His surgery was done at the hospital where I work. But I had never been to the pediatric inpatient department. It’s an odd mix of adorable and disconcerting. Little hospital gowns with spaceships on them! Teeny tiny blood pressure cuff! Adorable! They even had little tiny versions of the non-skid hospital slipper socks. I joked that his stuff should all be yellow (for fall risk patients) because he definitely has a history of falls. Hee hee, hospital humor.
But at the same time, little kids + all this medical stuff = disconcerting. I was very glad we were just there for a simple, voluntary procedure.

It was a long morning, and he was not a happy camper coming out of anesthesia. But by that afternoon he was back to his usual self. I think he is definitely hearing better. Hoping to make some progress on the speech before too long. 🙂

Having Lola gone to Florida went like this:

(Imagine a photo of me sobbing uncontrollably. I was too upset to take pictures.) Though, right about when she was getting ready to come home, I was calming down and getting used to it and remembering how easy it was to have only one kid. I was glad to have her back, though.

You know who else is glad to have her back?
image
Corbin.

Or, well, he’s SOMETIMES glad.
image

Here are a couple more photos that I took yesterday:
Crystal Light and generic Apple Jacks is a totally nutritious snack, right? :
image

I had set Lola up with some stickers and markers and stuff, and she seemed to be enjoying her independent craft time while I did some cleaning. And I was feeling pretty pleased about how it was what I imagine the “good” households are like. And then I walked back into the kitchen to find this:
image

Is it inappropriate that I smiled and took pictures instead of disciplining? They’re washable markers. Except, for some reason they didn’t wash off of her belly that well. Leading Brian to panic a little when dressing her for bed that night. Which, really Baby? You thought she had some sort of condition that caused a faded purple spiral doodle to appear on her belly?

Here is one of my favorite parts of every week:
image
Lola getting all excited while helping with the groceries. “NEW PRETZELS!?!”

Lastly, here is my confession for the day:
I was cleaning under the couch (a VERY frustrating, never ending chore. Stupid hardwood floors.) and found a ball (they ALL end up under there!) that belongs to a toy set that I had packed away in the basement. And instead of reuniting it with its toy family, I just rolled it far enough under the couch that no one would ever see it. Hey, it’s better than when I eat the old, found fruit loop. What, too far?

5 thoughts on “Just a little update

  1. LOL! Sometimes I walk around with a piece of some toy or other, get bored before I make it to the girls’ bedroom, and I dump it on the counter.

    I am so glad to hear everything went well for both Lola and Corbin. Hurray! Also: NEW PRETZELS!?!!?!!!&$%#&^%($&!

    • I thought of you this morning because I was reading a book from Country Living about, idk, simplifying your life or something. And one of their tips was to follow through on putting things away. Like “if something from the bedroom winds up in the kitchen, make sure you bring it back to the bedroom; don’t just move it to the dining room.” Lol, those wacky folks at Country Living must not have kids.

  2. LOL! I totally have a pic of my girly w/marker all over her face. The only difference is she used the WHOLE rainbow! She was quite a sight. I wish I could find that picture now, its buried in the mound of photos that haven’t been sorted or organized in ages! don’t worry, it’ll make a great blackmail photo for high school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

