Everyone loved these cupcakes

Everyone loved these cupcakes
My nephews’ birthday party was this past weekend. And my sister got cute, monster themed cupcakes for all the kids. (Monster is a cute theme! I’m going to have to keep that one in mind.) But I volunteered to make some cupcakes for the grownups. I was in a cupcake baking kind of mood.

I love to spend time thinking about just what I want to bake. I’m notoriously bad with generally refusing to honor specific requests. I like to bake whatever I feel like. So I decided I wanted to make white cupcakes (I’m still working on nailing down the best white cupcake recipe) with chocolate ganache filling and Baileys frosting. Sounds good, right!? But I couldn’t find a little bottle of baileys anywhere. So I had to change it up a little.

Chocolate filled white cupcakes with Godiva liqueur frosting

In trying many recipes for white cupcakes, I’ve definitely decided that Martha Stewart’s, from her cupcake book, is one of my favorites. It’s a little fussy, and not my official favorite yet. But it’s reliably very good. Soft and fluffy.

White Cupcakes

3 1/4 cups sifted cake flour (not self-rising) (note from Cakes: I HATE the variations in measuring flour! And the mess. I used 130grams here.)
1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons milk (another note: I really think you can just go with 1 1/4 cup here. Her recipe isn’t super moist anyway.)
1/2 cup plus 6 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 3/4 cups sugar
5 large egg whites, room temperature

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Sift together cake flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir vanilla into milk.

2. With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter until smooth. Gradually add sugar, beating until pale and fluffy. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of milk, and beating until just combined after each.

3. In another bowl, with an electric mixer on medium speed, whisk the egg whites until stiff peaks form (do not overmix). Fold one third of the egg whites into the batter to lighten. Gently fold the remaining whites in two batches.

4. Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Firmly tap the tins once on the countertop to release any air bubbles. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in center comes out clean, 18 to 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool 10 minutes; turn out cupcakes onto racks and let cool completely. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature, or frozn up to 2 months in airtight containers.

Don’t overfill your liners like I did and get flat muffin-y tops. It’s not so pretty and made me sad.
Now then, I’m going to tell you a secret. And by you, of course, I mean JUST you, and not the other people reading this. Shhh. I was going to make chocolate frosting for the filling and didn’t feel like it. So I bought a can of Duncan Hines. And whipped it with my mixer to improve the texture. But really, that was NO simpler than just making some quick ganache and then whipping it. So do that if you want these to be even better.
image
I actually use my apple corer to put holes in them, and then I pipe in the filling. Lola and I took turns popping the removed portions (cupcake holes?) into our mouths. 🙂

For the frosting on top:
When I couldn’t find any Baileys, I was kinda bummed. But what I did find was Godiva White Chocolate liqueur.
image

Everyone gets upset with me because I almost never follow frosting recipes or measure anything; I just add stuff until it tastes right and seems like the right consistency. For this one, I can get you pretty close. But just to warn you, I hate measuring powdered sugar like a thousand times more than I hate measuring flour even.

1/2 brick cream cheese (4oz)
1 1/2 sticks butter, soft
1 little minibar bottle of liqueur
About 3-4 cups powdered sugar? I used about half of a two pound bag.maybe a little less.

– whip the cream cheese and butter with your mixer until very soft and fluffy. Dump in the bottle of booze and whip some more. Add powdered sugar until it has the right consistency and doesn’t taste like straight up butter. This is a “to taste” thing.

This particular frosting was a little denser and butterier than my usual. And I personally think this liqueur was a little mild to really come through taste wise. BUT! I got a crazy amount of compliments. So, it must have been pretty good. I normally like to pipe a big mound of fluffy frosting on my cupcakes, but this was so rich, plus they were filled, so I went with a more modest coating.
image
They looked a little boring, so I wanted to jazz em up a little bit. I sifted, of all things, some hot cocoa mix on top. But you could also use just cocoa powder or chocolate sprinkles or whatever you’d prefer.

And there you have it. I had at least three guys tell me afterwards, “I ate like three of those cupcakes.” And one even told me they were his favorite ever. That seems like a stretch. But suffice it to say they were pretty delicious. Bake and enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

