Are you smarter than a five year old?

So, there is now a grocery store in my town that has a child care service. For free! You can drop your kids off for up to an hour while you shop. So, of course I drove all the way across town to pick up a few items yesterday because, hello, peace! Also, there’s a Vietnamese restaurant next door with spring rolls. 🙂

Halfway through shopping I get paged overhead and panic like a crazy person. “Corbin is choking on crayons!” “Someone is bleeding!” “Lola is misbehaving so badly that we’ve been expelled!!”
None of those, actually; Lola just needs to go pee.

As she’s finishing up in the bathroom, she says to me, about the lady in the childcare room, “I’m going to ask her if she thinks I’m pretty. I bet she’ll say yes.”

And I’m not sure why exactly I think this is one of her more brilliant remarks, but in my head I just thought, “you really know where it’s at, kid.” I’m thinking it might be a benefit to my admittedly low self esteem to start asking people leading questions that leave them feeling obligated to tell me complimentary things about myself, lol.

When I think about it, she has a lot of wisdom. Other things to learn from Lola:

If you hate something, don’t do it.
Now, possibly this isn’t the best advice for mature adults. But then again, I don’t know… For example, Lola hates having the front of her hair washed because she never holds still enough to make sure she doesn’t get soapy water in her eyes and mouth. So she just refuses to wash her bangs. “But sweetie your hair is going to get really greasy and gross looking in the front.” Shoulder shrug. Lola knows that, in the scheme of things, partially greasy hair is just not as detrimental to one’s day to day life as some would imagine.

“You get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.”
She says this a lot. Mostly to Corbin. I’m sure she learned it at school where the teachers can’t spend all day making sure everyone’s craft paper that day is in their own personal favorite color, or whatever. And certainly there is a strong case to be made for NOT just accepting whatever life throws at you. But also, sometimes you just get what you get. And throwing a fit in those situations rarely proves fruitful. So just use your YELLOW construction paper instead of the purple, finish your art project, make it a really good one anyway, or don’t, and move on.

If you don’t know the words, just make them up.
You don’t have to know what you’re doing all the time. You don’t have to do something WELL, or even CORRECTLY, to enjoy it.

She also tells me often, “if you eat poop, you’ll die.” Less applicable than some of her other wisdom, but she seems to feel its so important that I think she’d want me to pass it along.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Are you smarter than a five year old?

Leave a Reply

